Hostels And Beds
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.9
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.1

"hongkong downtown backpacker"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Handoyo T. of jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed:   March 26, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
nice place.. well it's not big as shown in the webite. only arround 3,5 x 2,4 m² (i think so)
for those who has big body or taller than 2 meter, choose another hostel. but for other.. this hostel quite nice place.. located in the middle of the hongkong downtown , Tsim sha sui. there is lots of food waiting for you out side the building. the building its self mostly surrounded by indians. there's plenty of indian, pakistani Cuisine. but out side the building.. chinese food, western food, junk food, and others food is waiting for you to eat. locatian ? near MTR station, Sogo, Seibu, Avanue of stars, hongkong space and art museum, night market, and plenty of POI.
so overall :

plus : nice place, clean, value for money, secure, downtown hongkong, lots of food

minus : small space, dont see outside the window .. not a good view (but its okay.. we can handle it ^_^ ), small lift .. dont bring to much thing. just bring a couple of small case.. if you need more case, just buy it, cost you arround HK$20 - HK$300

"An Ok place to sleep."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Ben B. of Hot Springs, AR, United States
Reviewed:   February 1, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you're looking for a simple cheap place to stay, this place has beds, clean sheets, showers, towels, and air-con. That's all you really need. But if your looking for a Hostel where you can meet people and hang out, don't go here. It doesn't have a lounge or restaurant or anything else.

The dorm style rooms and bathrooms are simple to the extreme, and not new. But things are fairly well maintained and clean. For example, this hostel is twice as clean as many in Mainland China.

By the way, this hostel has many names like Tai Wan Hotel, Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers, Tsim Sha Tsui Budget Hostel, and Li's Hostel, I think there are more but i'm not sure. When I stayed there basically everyone in my dorm signed up online for this hostel under a different name. However, all our names were on the reservation sheet of this same place. Check the address, anything on the 3rd Floor, Block A, at Chung King Mansions is really this same place.

The Location is Perfect for exploring Hong Kong.

"good enough for just sleeping in"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Tina .. of ., United States
Reviewed:   January 17, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you are out and about all day, and just need a bed to sleep in and a shower, the rooms in hong kong backpackers are ok. They are quite small and when you shower, the entire bathroom is under water. Our room didn't even have a window. The house it is in is called the Chung King Mansions, a dubious place. Women shouldn't go in and out alone. The elevators are also a problem. They are extremely slow and always full, so that queues build up. But as I metioned it's enough if you are only there for the night.
On the bright side HK Backpackers is right in "downtown Kowloon" near the peers, with ferries that take you every few minutes to Hong Kong, on a round trip through the bay or even to Maccau. For real backpackers this is perfect.

"very nice hotel with friendly owner and good location. I recommend it."

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Jack A. of BBT, United States
Reviewed:   December 29, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
very nice hotel with friendly owner and good location. I recommend it.

"Excellent and economic acommodation"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Sukinto A. of Duri, Riau, Indonesia
Reviewed:   October 19, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hotel located in very strategic location, close to anywhere. Within walking distance to Ferry if we want to go to Macau. Central location for shopping centre. The room and bathroom is minimalis but clean. For next visit I will stay here again.


Previous 10 results  11 - 15 of 15 reviews




HostelsAndBeds Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us